How Does the Toyota Pre-Collision System Work?

Toyota Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection Concept Illustration

There’s no substitute for a driver’s full awareness at the wheel, but with the Toyota Safety Sense™ package, you’ll enjoy additional protection against surprises on Malibu and Culver City roads. One of the most important features in this driver-assistance package is the Toyota Pre-Collision System, which uses sensors to monitor your surroundings, and issues audio and visual warnings if you’re in danger of colliding with an obstacle.

Preventing Crashes with the Toyota Pre-Collision System

The best way to prevent crashes is to utilize safe and attentive driving practices, but since no one is perfect, this Toyota active safety technology can assist the driver in emergencies. The system uses radar to measure the distance between your vehicle and whatever happens to be in front of it. It also takes into account your current speed, letting you know when it’s time to break. Once you apply the brakes, it will also maximize your braking power using Brake Assist (BA). If you don’t slow down quickly enough, this technology will even brake for you automatically. If there’s enough time, it can bring you to a complete stop.

The Toyota Pre-Collision System (PCS) is also available with Pedestrian Detection (PD). In some cases, Bicycle Detection is also available.

Which Toyota Models Offer the Pre-Collision System?

Toyota is moving in the direction of including Toyota Safety Sense™ features on every model in its lineup, but older models may not offer the technology. As of the model year 2019, the following vehicles either come standard with PCS or offer it as an option:

Cars and Hatchbacks

  • Avalon
  • Avalon Hybrid
  • Camry
  • Camry Hybrid
  • Corolla
  • Prius
  • Prius Prime
  • Prius c
  • Yaris Hatchback

Crossovers, SUVs, and Minivans

  • C-HR
  • Land Cruiser
  • Highlander
  • Highlander Hybrid
  • RAV4
  • RAV4 Hybrid
  • Tundra
  • Sequoia
  • Tacoma
  • Sienna

If you have any questions or want to make sure that you can get the features you desire in the model of your choice, reach out to the team at Toyota Santa Monica near Playa Vista.

What Features Are Included with Toyota Safety Sense™?

In the current model year, the Toyota Safety Sense package is available in three different grades: Toyota Safety Sense™ C (TSS-C), Toyota Safety Sense™ P (TSS-P), and Toyota Safety Sense™ 2.0 (TSS 2.0). Although feature availability varies depending on which vehicle you select, the most complete package (2.0) offers the following features:

  • Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection (PCS w/PD)
  • Lane Departure Alert with Steering Assist (LDA w/SA)
  • Lane Tracing Assist (LTA)
  • Automatic High Beams (AHB)
  • Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) or Full-Speed Range DRCC
  • Road Sign Assist (RSA)

Toyota Safety Sense™ P, the most common package, includes all of these except for Lane Tracing Assist and Road Sign Assist. Steering Assist may not be available in some models. The Prius c and the Yaris Hatchback both offer Toyota Safety Sense™ C, which includes PCS w/PD, LDA, and AHB.

Get the Safety Features You Deserve at Toyota Santa Monica Today!

Ready to experience Toyota Safety Sense™ features for yourself? Check out the new Toyota models at our showroom today, and schedule a test drive near Venice!

Read the Latest on Toyota Model Features

  • What are the 2019 Toyota RAV4 Trim Levels?

    The 2019 Toyota RAV4 configurations are priced between $25,650 MSRP* and $33,650 MSRP*, and that means there’s a new Toyota RAV4 for everyone. No matter what kind of budget you’re working with or what RAV4 color you’re looking for, it’s easy to find a Toyota RAV4 trim level that has all the features you’re searching…

  • How Much is a Toyota Camry?

    If you are thinking about purchasing a Toyota sedan in the Palms area, you are probably thinking, “How much is a Toyota Camry?” The Camry entry-level starts at $24,095 MSRP*, and includes a variety of features including the highly-praised Toyota Safety Sense P (TSS-P), V6 engine options, and an 8-inch multimedia touchscreen. Learn more about…

  • 2020 Toyota Corolla MPG

    What is the MPG of a Toyota Corolla? The 2020 edition reaches up to 53 mpg city and 52 mpg highway* with the Corolla Hybrid LE trim. This fuel-efficient sedan offers strong efficiency numbers throughout its lineup. Find more 2020 Toyota Corolla EPA ratings today at Toyota Santa Monica near Palms. Learn More Corolla for Sale Toyota…